Following the law is essential to stay out of trouble when it comes to law enforcement and keeping your child safe. I’ll be going through seating regulations within Wyoming.
Car seat laws in Wyoming apply to children under the age of 9. Children under 2, under 20 pounds, shall use a rear-facing seat.
Once they are over 20 pounds, they shall start using a front-facing seat up to 40 pounds, roughly around four years. After they are in the 40-80 pounds weight bracket, they should shift to a booster seat.
These rules may seem a little complicated but fear not, as I have tried my best to make them as simple as possible for your sake and the sake of your children.
Wyoming Car Seat Requirements By Ages
The seating requirements in Wyoming start for children under nine years of age. They shall use a rear-facing seat if they are one to three years old.
They will use a front-facing seat when they reach four years of age and above. Once they are over 7 – 8, they shall use a regular booster seat.
1 Year Old
1-year-olds shall be required to use a rear-facing seat, provided they are below or around 20 pounds. These seats provide young children with the safest and most comfortable trip.
2 Year Old
Children around two years of age shall use rear-facing seats as well. They will continue to do so until they are over 35 pounds. These seats are meant for this age bracket as they provide them the most security.
3 Year Old
As soon as your child reaches age 3, they shall still use a rear-facing seat. It is recommended that they be kept in this seat until they physically outgrow it and can’t seem to fit in.
4 Year Old
Regardless of your child getting a year older to 4 years of age, they shall remain seated in a rear-facing seat until or unless they are over 35 pounds, to which they can shift to a front-facing seat.
5 Year Old
When it comes to 5 year olds in Wyoming, they will use a front-facing seat equipped with a harness system that will keep them safe and secure. Make sure you opt for a 5-point harness system.
6 Year Old
Six year olds shall also use a front-facing seat, along with a harness system. They are still recommended to use a 5-point harness system as it provides the most safety to their fragile body.
7 – 9 Year Old
7, 8-year-olds shall also use the front-facing seat unless they are over 40 pounds of weight and come near the 60 pounds weight bracket.
Upon nine years of age, they shall use a regular booster seat provided they are around 70-80 pounds of weight and are no less than 4 feet and 9 inches.
10 Year Old
Ten year olds shall use a regular booster seat in Wyoming, while they have a weight of up to 80 pounds and a height of 4 feet and 9 inches. As soon as they fulfill these requirements, they shall move forward.
Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Wyoming
Children around 20 pounds or lower will use a rear-facing seat in Wyoming. The time to switch to a front-facing seat comes when a child is over 35 pounds, and later when a child is near about 65-70 pounds, they shall start using a booster seat provided that they are 4 feet and 9 inches.
Type Of Car Seat Laws In Wyoming
As discussed above, different seating arrangements entertain different age sets and weight and height brackets in Wyoming. Therefore the law that is related to them is slightly different as well.
For easy understanding, I have broken them down below:
1. Rear Facing Car Seat
These seats are best used by children around 1-4 years of age. It is said that you should keep using this seat until or unless your child physically outgrows it. These seats are to be used while your child is under 35 pounds.
2. Forward Facing Car Seat
These seats serve as a great way to transition to a front-facing situation, these come with a harness system that ensures your child’s safety, and they are meant to be used by children over 40 pounds of weight and the age of 4.
3. Booster Seat
These seats are meant to keep your child upright and help them better understand how they can sit in a regular car seat with a belt that comes with the car. This teaches them the necessary rules needed to sit without any sort of extra seating arrangements.
When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Wyoming?
Your child can sit with you in the front after reaching 13 years of age, but before that, they are required to sit in the back with their appropriate seats as it is the law.
Regardless of whether they can sit in front at the age of 13, it is recommended that you keep them at the back as it is the safest option for children.
What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Wyoming?
Currently, no laws have been formulated around this area of interest in Wyoming. However, it is extremely stressed that you should never leave a child alone in a car as it may risk them injuring themselves and others.
Cars can get heated up extremely quickly, so children should not be left alone in them as they might suffer from heat exhaustion. Furthermore, if they are somehow injured while you leave them unsupervised, you shall face punishment and a fine.
Taxi Car Seat Laws In Wyoming
As the law states that no vehicle shall travel until or unless a child is in their proper seat, you need a car seat when you are traveling with a child in a taxi in Wyoming.
The law does not state who shall provide a seat. Therefore, you are supposed to call them up and ask if they can arrange it for you; if not, you have to arrange it.
Wyoming Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
These seats, especially the rear-facing and front-facing seats, provide support and protection to the back neck.
Since the law is clear and states that children shall travel with their appropriate seating based on their height, weight, and age, this law, in turn, protects them in cases of an accident as long as these laws are followed and your child is in their appropriate seat, they shall be safer as compared to being in a crash without a seat.
Though the law in Wyoming does not specify, who shall change or replace the seat in the event of a car crash, for your child’s sake, a parent should replace the seat as soon as possible as it may have been damaged.
Uber Car Seat Laws In Wyoming
As it has already been made clear that the law states that children under the age of 9 shall be seated in their appropriate seats while traveling, it applies to all ride-sharing services as well to travel somewhere in an Uber with your child.
You must have a seat arranged beforehand to ensure that you follow the law and keep your child safe in Wyoming. The law does not state who shall provide a seat.
Therefore you can either check from the application and order a car seat service before schedule or get one yourself as stated before traveling.
Now that you are here, it would be safe to assume that you are well versed about the Wyoming car seat laws. Though simple, these rules are sometimes tricky to understand, and I hope I was able to help you understand them so that, in turn, it gets easy to follow them.
Children are fragile beings, and they are supposed to be protected by their parents or guardian. That is why these rules exist and apply to taxis and even Uber so that children are provided the care they require in any form needed.
Hi there! I am Tahir Azam, and this is my blog. WVDOT Automotive is a website dedicated to creating high-quality content for car enthusiasts. I am also an avid car driver. I own and drive a Porsche for my daily tasks. It is the perfect vehicle for my family. I am a proud father of two boys. I spend my mornings and evenings catering to clients at my very own software hub. After getting home, I dedicate a few hours of my time to create an article every day. Well, this is a short introduction about me and I am also a publisher on Amazon. I hope you enjoy reading through my articles, and I also hope that I may have helped you choose an upgrade for your vehicle.