Tinting your automobile windows conserves you from harmful UV rays, increases driving satisfaction, and keeps your possessions safe.
Do keep in mind that to avoid penalties or “fix-it” receipts, drivers must adhere to the window tinting legislation in their respective states.
Other drivers and pedestrians must notice where you’re looking and make eye contact. In addition, law enforcement must be capable of specifying the driver of a vehicle too while on the road.
North Carolina window tint laws clearly state that the windshield of the vehicles should be 35% tinted over the AS-1 line. Or it should be on the top 5″ of the windshield. Front side windows should also allow 35 percent light inside the vehicle. There are different laws for different windows, so read this article to find out more.
If you have tinted windows or want to tint, then there is still a lot more to learn about the laws for window tinting in North Carolina, so read this article until the end.
I have included a frequently asked questions section which will assist you a lot.
How Much Tint Darkness Is Legal In North Carolina?
The percentage of observable light passing through your automobile windows is VLT (Visible Light Transmission). To put it another way, the lower the VLT percentage, the darker the tint will be.
A dark tint of 5%, for example, would be exceedingly dark. Similarly, the North Carolina retains a separate VLT percent for the front and back windows, which I will discuss in detail further below, so please read to find out.
Tint Darkness Limit For SUVs And Vans
Here I will start with the tint darkness limited for SUVs and vans. The windshield should have a non-reflective tint, and it is only allowed to be 35% tinted over the AS-1 line, or it can be on the top 5″.
If you drive one, then this information is helpful for you. The front windows should also permit 35% light or more visible light transmission through.
Lastly, the back windows and the rear windows of the vehicles are allowed to use any darkness on them. This will give you more privacy if you go for dark shade.
Tint Darkness Limit For Sedans
The darkness limit for sedans is quite different from the vans and SUVs. Read this section so you can have a better understanding.
1. Front Windshield
The front windshield should also allow a 35% tint. It can also be done in the top 5” of the windshield.
2. Front Seat Side Windows
To begin with, the front windows of the sedans should let around 35% of light, or it should allow more visible light transmission than 35%.
3. Rear Window
Moving on to the rear windows now, 35% or more light should come inside the vehicle.
4. Back Seat Side Windows
And finally, the back windows should also let around 35% VLT inside the vehicle.
Window Tint Reflection And Tint Colors
- You need to learn how much window reflection is allowed according to the laws in North Carolina when you decide to tint your vehicle’s windows, so be sure to remember and follow them.
- The front side windows for sedans, SUVs, and vans should not be 20 percent reflective.
- The back windows on passengers and the multipurpose vehicles should also be less than 20 percent reflective.
- When it comes to the tint colors, you need to know that the North Carolina does not allow red, amber, and yellow.
Medical Exemption Of Window Tint Laws In North Carolina
If you have a medical circumstance requiring extra UV protection, you may be eligible for a medical disclaimer that allows you to get around the tint rules.
The applicant must submit a written application to the Drivers Medical Evaluation Program and have his/her doctor finalize the requisite medical examination document delivered by DMV to acquire authorization.
You’ll need a North Carolina physician’s signature on a signed release form. Be sure to always have the documents with you in the vehicle after getting exempt, so you can show them to the police every time you get stopped by them.
Get A Certified Sticker From The Company
You do not need to acquire a certified sticker in North Carolina to identify legal window tinting. Just keep the documents with you in the vehicle if you get a medical exemption.
However, if you have windows tinted darker than the legal limit, you will receive fix-it tickets and will have to pay fines.
Other Window Tint Law Rules And Regulations In North Carolina
Here I will mention some additional window tinting regulations that are said to be followed in North Carolina. So make sure you comprehend them and obey them as well.
- Dual side mirrors are assigned if the backside windows are tinted.
- Make sure to avoid the colors red, yellow, and amber, as they are illegal in North Carolina.
- You need to note that only 3 percent variance is permitted, which means it is only until 32 percent of visible light transmission.
- Manufacturers of film in North Carolina do not have to authorize the films they sell.
- You will be able to get a medical exemption if it is sufficient; however, no need to get stickers for legal tinting.
There you have it. These laws are easy to understand and follow, so obey and stay out of trouble.
Cost Of Car Window Tint In North Carolina
Commonly you will be charged around $150 for a normal window tinting. However, you must know that if you wish to have a ceramic material window tinting, it can cost you around $400 or more.
You can get a cheaper option too, but you will have to do it by yourself, and it will cost you less than $100.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is 15% Tint Legal In North Carolina?
No, 15% tint is not legal in North Carolina. It is said that the tinted cannot get any darker than 32 percent.
Q2. Are 5% Tints Legal In North Carolina?
No, 5% tint is not legal in North Carolina at all. It is not allowed to measure anything darker than 32 percent. 5% tints will be too dark, which can cause visibility problems.
Q3. Is Limo Tint Legal In North Carolina?
No, Limo tint is not legal in North Carolina. It is said to be too dark to be done on passenger or multi-purpose vehicles, which will result in you getting a ticket.
Q4. Can I Get Pulled Over For Tint In North Carolina?
Window tint is a hot topic among North Carolina Legislation Enforcement Officials. So, yes, you can easily get pulled over for time that isn’t legal in the state.
Q5. How Much Is A Tint Ticket In North Carolina?
You can end up with a fine of $50, along with court expenses totaling around $238. You should also know that a $200 punishment is imposed for failing to correctly display the sticker.
The major goal of this post was to inform you about the North Carolina tint laws. If you decide to tint your windows, you may do so properly. It will certainly modify the aesthetic of your automobile while also providing you with some more seclusion.
However, keep in mind that you must only color in ways that are permitted by law. If you have major health issues, you should obtain a certificate and carry it with you so you may present it to the police officers just in case they stop you. I’ve also included some more laws and restrictions, so make sure you adhere to them.
Hi there! I am Tahir Azam, and this is my blog. WVDOT Automotive is a website dedicated to creating high-quality content for car enthusiasts. I am also an avid car driver. I own and drive a Porsche for my daily tasks. It is the perfect vehicle for my family. I am a proud father of two boys. I spend my mornings and evenings catering to clients at my very own software hub. After getting home, I dedicate a few hours of my time to creating an article every day. Well, this is a short introduction about me and I am also a publisher on Amazon. I hope you enjoy reading through my articles, and I also hope that I may have helped you choose an upgrade for your vehicle.