Tinting your vehicle’s windows bring a lot of advantages for the drivers. It will provide extra safety and improve the ability to see while driving on the road.
But you must know that there are certain laws you need to follow before you decide on tinting your vehicle’s windows. It is said that many drivers were shocked by the changes made in New York for window tinting, which was done on 1st January 2017.
So what exactly does the law state? Let’s find out!
You can use non-reflective tint and any darkness on the top six inches of the windshield. New York window tint laws state that about 70 percent of light should get through inside the vehicle from the windshield. The laws are different for every vehicle type when it comes to other windows, which I will discuss in further detail.
If you want to find out more about the laws in New York and what surprised the drivers, then keep on reading this article. I have also included a frequently asked questions section, so make sure to read that.
How Much Tint Darkness Is Legal In New York?
To find out how dark your windows can get, you need to determine the percentage of VLT, also known as Visible Light Transmission.
It is worth mentioning that the light that is allowed to pass between the film and the glass of the window is different for passenger vehicles and multi-purpose vehicles.
Further, I will be discussing how much VLT percentage is permitted, so be sure to read and understand.
Tint Darkness Limit For SUVs And Vans
Here I will start with the windows of the SUVs and vans, so if you own one, you can have a clear vision of what you need to do when tinting the windows.
Starting with the windshield, you must know that more than 70 percent of light should be allowed to come inside the vehicle.
You must use a non-reflective tint, but you can use any darkness level on the top six inches of the windshield. The front-seat side windows should also permit more than 70 percent of light inside the vehicle.
Other than that, you have the back seat side windows and the rear windows. It is said that you can use any darkness on them. There is no limit.
Tint Darkness Limit For Sedans
Now let’s move on to the tint darkness limit for sedans. The laws on this vehicle type are different, so it is crucial to learn. If you have a sedan, this section is important for you to know about before deciding on tinting.
1. Front Windshield
The front windshield should also allow above 70 percent of light inside. However, use non-reflective tint only, but you can also use any darkness level with it for the top six inches on the windshield.
2. Front Seat Side Windows
Starting with the front seat side windows, you must know that they should be able to let more than 70 percent of light inside. Make sure it’s not less than that.
3. Rear Window
Next comes the rear windows. It is worth noting that if your vehicle has dual exterior rearview mirrors, you can use any darkness on the windows.
4. Back Seat Side Windows
Lastly, the back seat side windows should also allow more than 70 percent of light inside the car.
Window Tint Reflection And Tint Colors
- Window tinting is the best option for your vehicle because it can reflect sunlight and diminish warmth inside the vehicle while driving. But you need to know that there is a specific limit to window tint reflection according to the laws in New York, which you must follow.
- For sedans, SUVs, and vans, it is said that the front side windows should not use mirrored and metallic formations.
- As for the backside windows for sedans, SUVs, and vans, you should avoid metallic and mirrored appearances.
- After deciding to time the windows, people ask what tint color they are allowed to do. Luckily, New York does not ban the use of any color.
Medical Exemption Of Window Tint Laws In New York
You are authorized to get a medical exemption for window tinting in New York. However, you must know that one can get a medical exemption if he/she has a certain condition mentioned in the forum.
The conditions such as albinism, lupus erythematosus, xeroderma pigmentosum, porphyria, serious drug photosensitive, and photophobia will permit you to have a medical exemption.
You will need to request the law for exemption by showing them the application. Make sure to keep the letter with you in the vehicle every time you go for a drive so that when officers stop you due to dark windows, you can show them why and do not end up getting a ticket.
Get A Certified Sticker From The Company
After you get your exempt medical status, you need the stickers to allow the officers to identify legal window tinting.
It is compulsory to get them on all the windows of the vehicle. Make sure to place the stickers in the middle of the film and the glass of the tinted window.
Other Window Tint Law Rules And Regulations In New York
Let’s discuss some additional window tint laws in New York and be sure to follow them.
- If the backside and rear windows are tinted above 70 percent VLT, use dual side mirrors.
- You can use any tint colors in New York.
- There is no need to certify the film that manufacturers sell in New York.
- You will need to get stickers for proof of legal tinting on each window and place it in the middle of the glass and film.
- If you want special tinting done, you can get a medical exemption.
Cost Of Car Window Tint In New York
If you get a regular window tint, the cost will be around $150. But if you plan on getting a high-quality time, such as ceramic material, it will be around $400 or more.
However, it will depend on the kind of tint you want, the guarantee as well how many windows you are tinting.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is 15% Tint Legal In New York?
No, 15% tint is not legal in New York. You are not allowed to obstruct more than 30 percent of the light coming from the front windows and the windshield.
Q2. Are 5% Tints Legal In New York?
5% tints are not legal in New York only for the front side windows and the windshield. However, you can use any darkness on the rear windows.
Q3. Is Limo Tint Legal In New York?
Limo time is the darkest shade which can prevent drivers from seeing through while driving. It is not legal in the state of New York.
Q4. Can I Get Pulled Over For Tint In New York?
You can get pulled over for tint in New York if the tinting done on the vehicle is illegal. You will also end up paying a lot of fines.
Q5. How Much Is A Tint Ticket In New York?
If you get stopped by police officers and have a wrong tint on your vehicle, the tint ticket will be around $150.
Every driver must follow New York tint laws to not end up in trouble. The laws are simple and will provide extra safety while driving. It will also not affect your visibility and protect you from sun rays.
You can even tint your windows on your own if you want to save some money but make sure that you follow all the rules and regulations. Just check the laws for your vehicle type before tinting since it’s different for passenger and multi-purpose vehicles.
Hi there! I am Tahir Azam, and this is my blog. WVDOT Automotive is a website dedicated to creating high-quality content for car enthusiasts. I am also an avid car driver. I own and drive a Porsche for my daily tasks. It is the perfect vehicle for my family. I am a proud father of two boys. I spend my mornings and evenings catering to clients at my very own software hub. After getting home, I dedicate a few hours of my time to creating an article every day. Well, this is a short introduction about me and I am also a publisher on Amazon. I hope you enjoy reading through my articles, and I also hope that I may have helped you choose an upgrade for your vehicle.