Government-established websites are tricky to navigate, especially if you are in dire need of some important information.
Fortunately for you, everything has been covered. Car safety is a huge concern for parents, and every state has its own rules and regulations on how to keep your children safe while you’re driving.
Car safety is a huge concern for parents, and every state has its own rules and regulations on how to keep your children safe while you’re driving.
Car seat laws in Mississippi have been designed to protect your little one. Regulations such as children under 13 being allowed to sit only in the back seat are important to keep in mind.
This article will be taking a deep dive into everything that the state of Minnesota has set. There is a lot of information to cover, so without further ado, let’s get straight into it.
Mississippi Car Seat Requirements By Ages
As the information provided in this article is extremely important, I will not be wasting any of your time before getting to this point. Let’s begin.
1 Year Old
The state of Mississippi does not have any specific numbers, but there is no doubt that one-year-old children should be riding in a rear-facing car seat. These seats are the safest ones out of all and should be used for as long as possible.
2 Year Old
Two-year-old kids are still small enough for a rear-facing car seat. Unless your child grows quicker, which has a low chance of happening, a rear-facing seat will be good for a few months or even a year.
3 Year Old
At 3, your child is ready to move from a rear-facing seat to a forward-facing one. Although a rear-facing car seat is the safest option for children, once your child turns three and weighs at least 20 pounds, it’s time to move them up to a forward-facing seat.
The transition should not be rushed and should only be done if the previous seat was too small.
4 Year Old
The four year age is perfect for a forward-facing car seat. Unless a child is exceptionally weak, a forward-facing seat will be suitable for any child.
The only thing you should care about is the weight and height requirements that the car seat manufacturer has provided.
5 Year Old
According to experts and various research, children are ready to be transitioned to a booster seat at 5.
You should only shift to one if your child has outgrown his forward-facing seat. His weight should be at least 40 pounds and long enough that he cannot fit in his previous seat.
6 Year Old
Six year olds should also be seated in a booster seat. This is the final option before they are shifted to a regular car seat.
The thing is, a booster seat works the longest. So, you should never try to shift your kid to a normal seat quickly, even if the regulations will not cause any issue.
7 – 9 Year Old
Your child can finally use a normal car seat! If your child is seven years old, the state of Mississippi requires you to keep him in a booster seat for one year longer. If he achieves the desired height of 4’9”, the seat may be removed.
10 Year Old
A 10-year-old can use a normal car seat but is prohibited from sitting on the front one. Using a seat belt is compulsory, and you should ensure that he or she does not open it while riding.
Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Mississippi
In Mississippi, there are no statewide regulations regarding the weight or height of children who have to ride in car seats, except for the maximum height for using a booster seat, which is 4 feet and 9 inches.
Instead, you should follow the manufacturer’s recommendations for your particular model. For example, many forward-facing car seat models can accommodate children up to a certain age and weight—usually between 20-35 pounds.
If your child is too tall for their current car seat but still under the weight limit, they may be able to use it until they reach that weight. But if they’re already over the weight limit, you’ll need to upgrade them to a new one before they outgrow it.
Type Of Car Seat Laws In Mississippi
Car seat laws can get confusing. But in the case of the state of Mississippi, things are quite simple. Let me explain.
1. Rear Facing Car Seat
In Mississippi, children are required to be in a rear-facing car seat until they reach the height or weight limit for the seat.
If your child is riding in a rear-facing seat, you will want to keep them in it until they outgrow that seat. Generally, children under three are suitable for this type of seat. The maximum weight limit is around 30 pounds.
2. Forward Facing Car Seat
In Mississippi, there are no laws regarding when to switch from a rear-facing car seat to a forward-facing car seat, except for the statement that when a child has outgrown his previous seat. The accepted weight limit for a forward-facing car seat is around 40 pounds.
3. Booster Seat
A booster seat is perfect for children 5 to 7 years old. If they reach 4 feet and 9 inches, they can be shifted to a regular car seat.
The laws set by the state of Mississippi feel incomplete, and you should seek expert guidance to maximize your child’s safety and security.
When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Mississippi?
In Mississippi, children are required to sit in the backseat until they’re 13 years old. Once they turn 13, however, they can sit in the front seat provided that their car has a passenger-side airbag.
The reason for this law is that younger children are not as developed physically and mentally as older children. This means that they are less able to respond quickly in an emergency situation.
What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Mississippi?
Well, there is no law against leaving your child unattended in a car in Mississippi. But we don’t recommend it. It can be dangerous for your child’s health and safety, especially if the weather is hot or cold outside.
That’s why we think it’s best to keep them with you at all times, even when you’re running errands around town or going into a store before heading home from work.
Taxi Car Seat Laws In Mississippi
Mississippi has no law requiring taxi drivers to provide car seats for their passengers. However, it is a good idea to bring your own portable car seat along with you when traveling in a taxi, just in case, the driver does not have one readily available for you.
Mississippi Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
If you are a parent in Mississippi, you need to know about the state’s laws regarding car seats in accidents.
If you are involved in an accident and your child is not using a car seat, or if their car seat was compromised before the accident, police officers can give you a $25 fine.
Uber Car Seat Laws In Mississippi
Uber does not have any specific car seat rules in Mississippi. If you are traveling with your children, we recommend that you check the Uber app to see if there is a law in effect for your location.
If there is not, then there is a good chance that you may not find vehicles that offer a car seat for your little one.
In conclusion, Mississippi car seat laws are pretty clear and easy to understand. The rules are there to help keep your child safe, so it’s important that you know what they are.
You can always consult with a professional if you need more advice or want to make sure that your child is using their seat correctly.
Mississippi’s laws are not as strict as other states. However, it is still important to follow them. If you don’t, you could be fined or face legal action. So, you should not risk it and keep your child protected at all times.
Hi there! I am Tahir Azam, and this is my blog. WVDOT Automotive is a website dedicated to creating high-quality content for car enthusiasts. I am also an avid car driver. I own and drive a Porsche for my daily tasks. It is the perfect vehicle for my family. I am a proud father of two boys. I spend my mornings and evenings catering to clients at my very own software hub. After getting home, I dedicate a few hours of my time to creating an article every day. Well, this is a short introduction about me and I am also a publisher on Amazon. I hope you enjoy reading through my articles, and I also hope that I may have helped you choose an upgrade for your vehicle.