Upon noting the various laws and regulations the state of Indiana has set for car seats, it found that nearly 85% of all child car safety sears are misused nationally, which is why the State of Indiana has encouraged parents to follow the rules carefully.
Car seat laws in Indiana require that children below 8 must be properly protected in a car seat. Children under 20 pounds must use a rear-facing car seat, children older than a year and above 20 pounds can use a front-facing car seat and children above 30 pounds can switch to a booster seat.
It is recommended that you read the entire article as I will go over all these rules in great detail so you could make sure to follow all the rules.
Indiana Car Seat Requirements By Ages
As is the case with all the states, the rules and laws for car seats have been made according to the ages of the children being the most integral factor, while other factors such as weight and height take a back seat.
1 Year Old
Indiana allows one-year-olds to use the front-facing car seats, but only if they are above 20 pounds. If not, they will have to stick with a rear-facing car seat. Children below the age of 1 will have to use a rear-facing car seat.
2 Year Old
While they generally follow the same rules as above, it is not likely that your two-year-old will weigh more than 20 pounds which is why it is also recommended that you keep them secured in a rear-facing car seat.
3 Year Old
With newer seats coming every day, there is a good chance that your rear-facing car seat may be capable of holding children that weigh 40 pounds.
While three-year-olds above 20 pounds can easily use a front-facing car seat, it is recommended to use a rear-facing car seat for as long as possible.
4 Year Old
This applies to 4-year-olds as well. They will most likely pass 20 pounds and will have enough height to use a front-facing car seat, but again, for more safety, it is recommended that you stick to a rear-facing car seat for as long as possible.
5 Year Old
Once your child reaches 30 pounds in weight, they can start to use a booster seat. However, the state of Indiana recommends that you wait until the child is 40 pounds before you start to use a booster seat, meaning your 5-year-old is better off with a front-facing car seat.
6 Year Old
Six-year-olds can much more easily make the transition to a booster seat as they will easily cross the 40-pound weight suggestion that the state has set for children to be able to use booster seats.
7 – 9 Year Old
Regardless of how tall or what your child weighs until they are eight years old, they are required to be seated in a car seat and properly restricted.
This means that while seven-year-olds will be locked in their booster seat for another year, children eight and above can start using the car’s seat belts.
10 Year Old
At the age of 10, your child should have no problem using the car’s seat belts. Since they have no legal requirement to use a booster seat, they can simply travel by the car’s built-in seat belts.
Car Seat Weight And Height Requirements In Indiana
Age is the priority in car seat guidelines in Indiana, but there are various weight suggestions and requirements set by the state, many of which are confusing.
Children below 20 pounds need to be in a rear-facing car seat, and once they cross 20 pounds, they can shift to a front-facing car seat.
They can immediately move to a booster seat once they reach 30 pounds in weight, but the state recommends that they wait until the children are 40 pounds. Regardless of weight, they must use a car seat until they reach the age of 8.
Type Of Car Seat Laws In Indiana
Here are a few laws surrounding car seats and the different types of car seats present in the Indiana.
1. Rear Facing Car Seat
The Indiana requires kids less than age of 2 to use a rear-facing car seat, especially if they are below 20 pounds. The state also recommends you use it for as long as possible, even if your child is around 40 pounds unless it is beyond your rear-facing car seat limit.
2. Forward Facing Car Seat
There are no specifics regarding forward-facing car seats other than your child can start using them once they are older than a year and are above 20 pounds.
3. Booster Seat
There are no exact booster seat laws that the state of Indiana has set in place. The only law the booster seats follow is that they must be used until the child is eight years or older and weighs 40 pounds or more.
When Is The Time For My Child To Sit In The Front Seat In Indiana?
Upon browsing the various car seat rules of Indiana, you will see that there is no mention of when your child is legally allowed to sit in the front seat of the car.
This means that you are free to keep your child in the front seat of the car, but it is recommended that you keep them in the back seat until they are at least 13 years old or have extensive experience with seat belts.
What Happens If You Leave Your Child In A Car In Indiana?
Indiana is one of the many states in the country that does not have any exact laws regarding leaving your child in the car. You could just as easily leave your child in the car and come back, but this does not mean you should.
I will, however, recommend that you do not leave your child alone in a car for more than 5 to 10 minutes, especially if the car is still running and the weather conditions are extreme.
Taxi Car Seat Laws In Indiana
Regarding car seats in public transport such as taxis and buses, the state of Indiana does not require your children to be in car seats or wear seat belts.
The state of Indiana does not hold the driver or the rider accountable in the event a child is in a taxi without a booster seat which is convenient for both parties. However, you should try to bring a booster seat with you whenever you travel in a taxi.
Indiana Law Regarding Car Seats In Accidents
There is no clear law that has been set by the state of Indiana when it comes to car seats in accidents.
You are not entitled to any form of legal replacement or payment if your car seat is damaged in an accident, neither by your insurance company nor from the government, unless specifically stated.
You should have a seat replaced after a car accident, as it will not provide the same level of protection in another crash.
Uber Car Seat Laws In Indiana
Just like the state on car seats in taxis, the state of Indiana has no legal requirements for using a car seat in an Uber or any other car for hire service.
Neither you nor the driver will be liable for any fines or punishment if the police pull you over to notice that the child is not using a booster seat.
You should try to use a booster seat regardless, as it will keep your child protected and secure while you are in the car.
Indiana car seat laws are very vague and confusing, especially when compared to other states, which are very clear in what they require and at what height, age, and weight they require. With so many different things to keep track of, the state does not make it easy to follow the rules.
However, it does provide various conveniences to its citizens regarding these laws. You should now have a firm understanding of these laws and how you should follow them according to your child and update them as your child continues to grow.
Hi there! I am Tahir Azam, and this is my blog. WVDOT Automotive is a website dedicated to creating high-quality content for car enthusiasts. I am also an avid car driver. I own and drive a Porsche for my daily tasks. It is the perfect vehicle for my family. I am a proud father of two boys. I spend my mornings and evenings catering to clients at my very own software hub. After getting home, I dedicate a few hours of my time to creating an article every day. Well, this is a short introduction about me and I am also a publisher on Amazon. I hope you enjoy reading through my articles, and I also hope that I may have helped you choose an upgrade for your vehicle.